Subscribe Now

Zambia, Africa

(38 results)

Low copper prices to hit Zambia's income
Friday, January 02, 2009
Zambia's tax revenues will be hit badly in 2009 unless copper prices rebound, the country's revenue authority (ZAR) was quoted as saying on...

ZAMBIA: A slow start to saving the trees
Saturday, December 06, 2008
LUSAKA Wednesday, December 03, 2008 (IRIN) - Zambians are gradually turning to greener energy technologies to save trees after suffering years of...

ZAMBIA: Dr Muzinga, "Many people are demon possessed"
Wednesday, November 26, 2008
LUSAKA Tuesday, November 25, 2008 (IRIN) - Traditional healers are often the first line of care in Zambia, helping to fill the gaps in a public...

ZAMBIA: Coping with less and less water
Saturday, November 22, 2008
KAOMA Wednesday, October 01, 2008 (IRIN) - Deforestation has affected the water cycle in one of Zambia's largest charcoal-producing regions, forcing...

ZAMBIA: Powering up, at last
Saturday, November 22, 2008
JOHANNESBURG Friday, October 24, 2008 (IRIN) - The Zambian government signed a US$75 million financing agreement with the World Bank this week to...

ZAMBIA: Hoping for a free and fair election
Saturday, November 22, 2008
LUSAKA Tuesday, October 28, 2008 (IRIN) - Widespread allegations of pre-poll irregularities has cranked up tensions in Zambia ahead of presidential...

ZAMBIA: Border closed to DRC refugees
Saturday, November 22, 2008
LUSAKA Wednesday, October 29, 2008 (IRIN) - The Zambian government has closed its border to any refugees arriving from the Democratic Republic of...

ZAMBIA: A successful democratic election
Saturday, November 22, 2008
LUSAKA Monday, November 03, 2008 (IRIN) - Zambia cemented its democratic credentials on 30 October in an election that observers judged free and...

ZAMBIA: Refugees facing food shortages
Saturday, November 22, 2008
LUSAKA Thursday, November 06, 2008 (IRIN) - A funding shortfall is jeopardising food supplies to about 3,000 of the most vulnerable refugees living...

ZAMBIA: Lower copper prices will hurt the poor
Saturday, November 22, 2008
LUSAKA Monday, November 10, 2008 (IRIN) - Lower copper prices will hurt the poorLUSAKA, 10 November 2008 – The fall in international copper prices is...