Gambia Absent in 2008 African Women Championship

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

The Draw of the 6th Edition of The African Women Football Championship, slated for next Year in Equatorial Guinea, was held recently without The Gambia.

Twenty two countries out of the 53 in African have entered for the largest Women Sport competition in the continent.

Six countries have been given a bye from the preliminaries.

They are: Nigeria, Ghana, Cameroon, South Africa, RD Congo and Mali.

The other 16 countries would be battling in the preliminaries of the qualifiers in November- December this year.

Preliminary Round

Tunisia / Egypt

Morocco / Algeria

Burundi / Congo

Zimbabwe / Zambia

Eritrea / Tanzania

Botswana / Namibia

Guinea / Benin

Senegal / Côte d’Ivoire

First leg: 30 Nov.01, 02 December 2007

Second Leg: 14, 15, 16 December 2007

Source: The Point